top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJessica Seale

Hope

I was lonely that evening, an all-too-familiar ache in my soul as I chatted with a friend on messenger. A word came up in the conversation with which I am all too familiar: disappointment. Yes, I know it well . “You’d think I would be used to it by now,” I type, as self-pity seeps in.

During this time of angst and disappointment, I decided to distract myself by decorating for Christmas early: from a seven-foot tree on down to a pile of Christmas books, I have officially “decked the halls.” But even in this, I’ve found myself stressed and obsessing over the little details. I realized that evening as I talked to my friend that I was using decorating as a way to fill a hole inside- a hole that should only be filled with the reason for all the decorations- Jesus.

The Apostle Paul knew disappointment too- spending many years imprisoned, yet through all this, he was able to give comfort and hope to believers through his letters. In chapter 15 verse 13 of Romans, he writes, “may the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in Him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” (NIV) In other words, hope in Jesus Christ fills the hole left by disappointment as Holy Spirit Power overflows within us.

This hope is echoed in the carol “O come, O come Emmanuel.” Israel, who “mourned in lonely exile,” surely understood disappointment, yet hope came to them in the form of a tiny infant. He would also know excruciating disappointment, yet would triumph over it in glorious hope.

Thank you for coming, Emmanuel. (God with us)!

32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page