top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJessica Seale

Mastery Journey




As I mentioned in my last post, I have gone back to school online, pursuing an MFA in Creative Writing. As I am wrapping up Mastery, my first class, I would like to share my last assignment with you by way of a blog post. I am excited about the project I have chosen to work on in the next few years, a Christian Romance Novel for teens and young adults, called What Love Does. I can’t wait to share with you about it and welcome your feedback on my goals, and I will be happy to answer any questions.


My main goal for the next two years, particularly the year following graduation next year, is to become a published author of Christian Romance. More specifically and measurably, I want to publish a Christian Romance within one year of graduation. I have broken this goal down to ten manageable goals:

  1. Read what I have written for my novel What Love Does and write what I can remember from the parts I can’t find. By 11/30/2021.

Yes, I have misplaced my original document somewhere in the shuffle of moving files from one computer to another. Hopefully, I can remember the important parts and fill in any important gaps.

  1. Write Summary and Outline of What Love Does. By 12/31/2021

I confess I don’t always stick to an outline, but it helps to have a visual, just as my timeline graphic for in this post will help me stay on track with my goals.


  1. Write first 6 chapters. By 03/28/2022

The reason I chose six chapters is that is, I believe, I good starting point. Also, a certain number of chapters are required for submitting a book proposal, at least three, I believe.

  1. Write book Proposal. By 05/31/2022

I want to have this task finished before I attend the Flourish Conference and meet with an agent, at which point I will submit my proposal.

  1. Schedule meeting with a prospective agent. By 07/31/2022

With the premium membership of Flourish Writer’s Conference, I can book a meeting with an agent to discuss them representing me.

  1. Practice for the scheduled meeting. By 08/10/2022

I had my first meeting with an agent earlier this year. It gave me some perspective on things I need to work on and practice for next time.

  1. Attend Flourish Virtual Writer’s Conference. By 08/31/2022

I always enjoy this conference, especially the sessions with author Allen Arnold. I am looking forward to getting premium access this next time around, and increasing my writing skills.

  1. Finish What Love Does. By 02/28/2023

I gave myself what I hope is plenty of time without stretching it out too far.

  1. Decide to either professionally publish or self-publish, based on feedback from agent. By 04/30/2023. This is a crucial point. When I hear back and what I hear will determine my next steps.

  2. Pursue chosen path in (i), by researching each and applying that knowledge. 08/31/2023

I realize this point is a little vague. What I mean is that I will either have an agent and follow his or her lead, or I will prepare to self-publish, probably through Amazon Kindle.

These are my goals.

Next up is to discuss more about how to grow and develop.

  1. I am Currently involved in the Flourish Writer’s Group. I normally only participate in the group, though, when there is a conference. I want to become more active by attending all events and spending time weekly reading/posting on the facebook page.

  2. My friends, Ernie and Steve Simms are great resources for improving my writing. I did a guests post on Ernie’s blog recently, and received editing suggestions from her husband, Steve. I also hope to do some networking through them, finding contacts, such as their friend who has written books based on Kendrick Brothers’ movies. I can also network by using LinkIn to connect with other authors.

  3. Full Sail Clubs: The Creative Writing club is of great interest to me, and if I were able to participate, I am sure it would further my Mastery Journey tremendously. At this point, I am not sure if I could participate as an off-campus student, and even if I could, most of the events are in the evenings, while I am working. If I could join, my Mastery Journey would be enhanced by meeting and getting together with other writers, practicing writing with others, and attending workshops. The Christian Filmmakers Club is a club I could be a part of as an on-campus student because it is based on Connect. I'm not learning to be a filmmaker, but I am interested in scriptwriting. I don’t see any events however, besides one which has already passed (Full Sail University Clubs, 2021).

To wrap up this post, I want to remind myself of the importance of sticking to my goals. I have a habit of suddenly getting motivated and later losing steam. As Elizabeth Saunders (2021) points out, in order to keep up momentum, it is important to self-regulate. I hope to stay on track by setting upper and lower goals (done), making time for me, understanding my tendencies, and giving myself breathing room. (Saunders, 2021).



References:


Full Sail University Clubs (2021). “Creative Writing Club.”



Full Sail University Clubs (2021). “Christian Filmmakers Club.”



Saunders, E. G. (2021). 4 Ways to Manage Your Energy More


Effectively. Harvard Business Review Digital Articles, 1–5.


15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page